Thomas L. New

Executive Director Governmental Affairs

p: (317) 238-6384

Thomas L. New

Executive Director Governmental Affairs


Mr. New is a member of Krieg DeVault's Governmental Affairs Practice Group and advises clients in the areas of governmental affairs, public procurement, public finance, life sciences, economic development and public policy analysis. Prior to joining the firm, Mr. New held several key positions in Indiana state government and politics. Mr. New served as Chief of Staff to Governor Frank O’Bannon and managed both of O’Bannon’s gubernatorial campaigns in 1996 and 2000. In addition, Mr. New served as Fiscal Advisor to the Indiana Senate Democratic Caucus, Legislative Liaison to the Indiana Senate for Governor Evan Bayh, and Chief of Staff to Lieutenant Governor O’Bannon. Mr. New was also the Indiana Democratic Party’s nominee for Treasurer of State. Mr. New is an associate faculty member at the School of Public and Environmental Affairs at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, where he teaches public management.

Representative Experience

  • Implemented successful strategy to secure an agreement for the out-sourced management of a large, municipally-owned utility
  • Provided formal policy analysis and guidance to state agencies in the areas of education and health care finance
  • Drafted and presented successful applications for two state-certified technology parks in the Indianapolis area
  • Guided a wide range of clients in procuring professional services contracts with agencies of state government including Workforce Development, Family & Social Services Administration, Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Department of Corrections and the Indiana Department of Transportation
  • Assisted an institution of higher education in securing significant federal appropriations


  • John F. Kennedy School of Government, Cambridge, Massachusetts (M.P.P.)
  • University of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois (M.A.)
  • Harvard College, Cambridge, Massachusetts (A.B., cum laude)

Professional Associations

  • Public Policy Committee of the Indiana Health Industry Forum
  • Executive Education Advisory Board at the School of Public and Environmental Affairs at Indiana University
  • After School Coalition of Indianapolis, Board of Directors
  • Indianapolis Jewish Community Center
  • Harvard Club of Indiana
  • The Indy Partnership, Board of Directors, 2001-2007
  • Marion County Economic Development Advisory Committee, 2001-2007
  • White River State Park Development Commission, 2003-2004
  • Indiana Economic Development Corporation, Board of Directors, 2002-2004
  • Indiana Development Finance Authority, Secretary-Manager, 1993-1995
  • Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, School of Public and Environmental Affairs, Associate Faculty in Public Management

Awards and Recognitions

  • Sagamore of the Wabash, Awarded by Governor Evan Bayh in 1997, Governor Frank O’Bannon in 1999, and Governor Joseph Kernan in 2005
  • Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award, School of Public and Environmental Affairs, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
  • Harvard National Scholar
  • James L. McLaughlin Memorial Trophy, Harvard University
  • Distinction in Undergraduate Teaching, awarded by the Committee on Undergraduate Education, Harvard University